Published on 25/01/2021


Young Clifton Beach star Rudy Davis led from start to finish in the draw at the weekend’s East Coast Open Surf Classic at Scamander, Rd. 1 of the 2021 RHS State Championship Series. Like the consistent 1 to 1.5 metre surf at Dark Hollow, Rudy was methodical. Even with the likes of Aussie surf stars, now Scamander residents, ‘ Chippa’ Wilson and Dion Agius, Rudy carved his way through the draw with a clean set of wins in his heat, quarters, semi and final. His smooth flowing but powerful style with a big vertical attack was dominant. He attacked the final from the start leaving fellow finalists Ned Bramich, Matt Gaby and new comer Colin Schidhauser in his wake powering to his second ever Open division win.

 The Open Womens finals saw Stella Gibson and Luca Brodribb trade waves and the lead in an exciting encounter with Luca coming out on top with a first and second and Stella a first and third. Both girls continue to build a mature attacking style of surfing and used all of the opportunities the left handers at Dark Hollow offered on the day.

The Open Longboard saw the best field in several years come together for what was a great exhibition of the best longboard surfing to be seen in Tasmania. Clifton’s Keiren Thomas and Scamander’s Tom Kelly have dominated this division over the past 5 years and put on a powerful display of performance longboarding with an occasional traditional trick thrown in. On the day Kelly’s more powerful and fast radical attack won the judges over.

The U21 Womens was another intense battle between the four Open division girls with Luca taking the honours from Stella. The U21 Men was another great view into the future with the SABR trio of George Vanderkelen, Milo Langford and Toby Lawrence up against hot Scamander local Jo Pugh. However Toby’s power and speed came out on top with Milo, George and Jo following in minor places.

The age divisions were dominated by solid performances from regular stagers Zeb Critchlow ,Damon Hodge, Luke Johannesen and Jo Goldfinch. The star performer Dion Agius missed the start of his final by nearly 10 minutes but still blew the field away with his first big left and followed up with others to seal the hometown win in the O/30’s.

Many thanks to NEBR President Mario Agius and members, Event Manager Andrew Davis, Head Judge Michael Schmidt and crew, Tallier Jill Britton, Live Heats Manager Kye Schmidt, Priority Judge Richie Hassett and crew for making it all possible. Thanks to Jon and his team at Surfside Hotel for hosting the Event Presentations. A big team effort as we launched our new Live Heats online judging system.

Thanks to sponsors: Quiksilver/Roxy, East Coast Surf Shop, St Helens, Epokhe Eyewear, Surf Side Hotel, Beaumaris. Seaview Constructions and North East Boardriders Club.


OPEN WOMEN. 1.Luca Brodribb 2. Stella Gibson 3. Nellie Strickland 4. Sophie Bowden.

OPEN MEN. 1. Rudy Davis 2. Colin Schidhauser 3. Ned Bramich 4. Matt Gaby.

OPEN LONGBOARD. 1. Tom Kelly 2. Keiren Thomas 3. Ned Bramich 4. Al Thomas.

U21 MEN. 1. Toby Lawrence 2. Milo Langford 3. George Vanderkelen 4. Joe Pugh.

U21 WOMEN. 1. Luca Brodribb 2.Stella Gibson 3.Nellie Strickland 4. Sophie Bowden.

O/30 MEN.1.Dion Agius 2. Finn Whitla 3.Gus Bryant.

O/40 MEN.1. Zeb Critchlow 2.Damon Hodge 3.Luke Johanessen 4.Justin Emmerton 5. Gus Bryant.

O/50 MEN.1. Damon Hodge 2.Jo Goldfinch 3.Al Thomas 4.Phil Wells.

NEXT EVENT: Woolworths South Eastern Challenge Rd 2 of the Woolworths Junior State Championship for 2020/21. February 13/14. Entries now open at: Events | Surfing Tasmania

Enquiries : Shayne Clark-0429891102.


Other News