South Arm Wins A Classic Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Thriller At Eaglehawk Neck

Published on 22/10/2022

EAGLEHAWK NECK/TASMANIA(Saturday,22nd October/2022): South Arm Boardriders have taken out a thrilling final heat to once again reign supreme as the 2022 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle presented by Zambrero Tasmanian State Champions in solid waves at Eaglehawk Neck today. 

Every heat was hotly contested with just under two points separating all three clubs in the first exchange of the day. This continued right down to the last three seconds in the final heat as North West Boardriders almost turned the tide on South Arm Boardriders with Jake Colreavy making it in the gates after posting a last ditch score. They came up short by an agonisingly close 1.57 points ( 27.32 Points to 25.75 points). 

Led by power surfer Rudy Davis, South Arm were just too consistent across the team score sheet today, overcoming North West Boardriders and Park Beach Boardriders to book their place at the National Grand Final come early 2023. 

Young Park Beach Boardriders junior Cowan Duncan took out the Harvey Norman High Performer Award whilst North West Boardrider and current number one ranked Tasmanian Open Men’s surfer Colreavy won the Oakley Prizm Performer Award. 


1ST – SOUTH ARM BOARDRIDERS CLUB (27.32 points in the final)

2ND-  NORTH WEST BOARDRIDERS CLUB (25.75 points in the final) 


Harvey Norman High Performer Award – Cowan Duncan (Park Beach Boardriders) 

Oakley Prizm Performer Award – Jake Colreavy (North West Boardriders)

Also featuring in the event this year was the Hyundai Expression Session, contested over an hour with the best single wave score of each division the winner. Thanks to Hyundai Hobart who put up $1000 in cash and prizes! 


 Open Men

1st Jy Johannesen 

2nd Marti Paradisis 

Open Women

1st Luca Brodribb

2nd Dara Penfold 


1st Toby Lawrence

2nd Marvin Freeman

Over 35

1st Zeb Crichlow

2nd Luke Johannesen

The Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle presented by Zambrero has a unique and dynamic ‘tag team’ team format which requires clubs to nominate 2 x Open Men, 1 x Open Woman, 1 x Master (over 35 years) and 1 x Junior (under 18 years) to compete, with each surfer’s best wave added together for a team total. Each club has a power surfer who surfs twice. 

The Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle presented by Zambrero is an unprecedented event series involving over 60 of Australia’s Boardriders Clubs in eight State qualifying events and culminating in a National Final for 24 clubs at the Grand Final in February, 2023.

The event also incorporated the Hyundai and Surfing Australia ‘She’s Electric’ national women’s leaderboard. She’s Electric is a platform to recognise and amplify female grassroots athletes on a national scale by leveraging LiveHeats data from the Australian Boardriders Battles. This leaderboard aims to give female boardriders a profile, unearthing breakout talent and creating a pathway to the top – inspiring the next generation of surfers.  

For previous results, images and video highlights head  to​

Event 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – September 3, 2022
Event 2 – Scarborough, WA – September 10, 2022
Event 3 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – September 24, 2022
Event 4 – Clifton Beach, TAS – October 22, 2022
Event 5 – NSW Nth, Coffs Harbour, NSW – October 29, 2022
Event 6 – Phillip Island, VIC – November 6, 2022
Event 7 – NSW Central, North Narrabeen, NSW – November 19, 2022
Event 8 – NSW South, Kiama, NSW – November 26, 2022

Grand Final – Newcastle, NSW – February 4 – 5, 2023

The 2022/23 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle presented by Zambrero is
Proudly supported by Harvey Norman, Oakley, Acciona, Reeftip Drinks Co, Surfing Tasmania and Surfing Australia. 


Other News