Brodribb & Johannesen Win 2024 Rip Curl West Coast Classic Presented By Sea FM Burnie

Published on 01/04/2024

MARRAWAH/TASMANIA (Monday 1st April/2024): Marrawah delivered challenging conditions for competitors over this Easter Long Weekend with three different locations utilised for the running of the 49th Rip Curl West Coast Classic presented by Sea FM Burnie. 

The event got started on a picture perfect day on Friday March 29th at Lighthouse Beach with overhead clean waves making for spectacular surfing across all divisions from Open Women’s and Men’s through to Under 12’s and Over 60’s Men. 

Six-time West Coast Champ Jy Johannesen and 2023 Tasmanian Open Men’s Championship Circuit runner-up Benn Richardson were the standouts in the pulsing conditions. Richardson set the bar high after posting a 17.9 point ( out of a possible 20 points)   heat total that included a 9.5 point ride ( out of a possible 10 points). 

Johannesen, not to be outdone, posted an 8.5-point ride in the over 40’s division and a 7.33-point ride in the Open Men’s. East Coast legend Dustin Hollick also looked in ominous form in both Open’s and Over 40’s Men’s, posting scores in the good range on day one. 

After a shorter day of protected waves at Nettley’s Beach on Saturday March 31st with Junior divisions getting stuck into fun shoulder high waves, the competition moved locations for the Elder Divisions. Mt Cameron provided overhead right-hand walls for Over 30, 40, 50 and 60’s Men’s divisions. 

Kim Gibson was the star of the afternoon, laying down a 9 point ride to set himself up for victory in the Over 50’s Men’s Final. Attacking a Mt Cameron set wave with speed, power and flow, Gibson completed several large rail turns to cement victory. 

Finals Day today saw the competition move back to Lighthouse Beach with wind and swell backing off overnight.

Luca Brodribb was the clear stand-out in the Open Women’s division after she sent an early warning shot with a 16.4 point heat total on day one. She carried that form all the way through to victory in the Final with a 13.33 point heat total. Brodribb will now be eying of a three-pete at next year’s 50th edition of the event after wins in 2023 and 2024.

The last heat of the day saw long-time mates and fierce rivals Jy Johannesen and Dustin Hollick battle it out against Hamish Renwick and young gun Cowan Duncan. Johannesen got out to a strong start with 7 and 6 point rides to put presure on his fellow competitors. Hollick, Renwick and Duncan all posted good scores to stay hot on Johannesen’s tale but couldn’t quite reach his 13.50 point total. The four only seperated by under 4 points from 1st to 4th.  

Jy Johannesen said:  “There were a lot of fun, punch waves with plenty of scoring potential which is all you can ask for. Opportunity for everyone is what it’s all about and Surfing Tasmania achieved that across the weekend so congrats to them on a good job. Congrats to the boys in the final, it was a tight battle.” 


  • Luca Brodribb – Open Women
  • Jy Johannesen – Open Men 
  • Benn Richardson – Over 30 Men 
  • Jy Johannesen – Over 40 Men
  • Kim Gibson – Over 50 Men 
  • Glenn Saltmarsh – Over 60 Men 
  • Cowan Duncan – Under 18 Boys 
  • Ava Carlton – Under 18 Girls 
  • Duke Armstrong – Under 16 Boys 
  • Jessica Gardner – Under 16 Girls 
  • Tiago Ramsden – Under 12 Combined 


The 2024 West Coast Classic is proudly brought to you by Rip Curl, Sea FM Burnie, Red Herring Surf, Macaronis Resort, SIN eyewear, Reef, Ocean and Earth, Dometic Australia, Bradley, The Goodstone Group, Flowerdale, Marrawah Inn, Urban Surf Co, CanoeNSurf, Everett Flight & Associates, McGrath & Co Lawyers, Marrawah Kelp, Polished Concrete Tasmania, Britton Timbers, Thistle Hut Boat Harbour, We Are Feel Good Inc., Tasmanian Government, Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife, Marrawah Store and Penguin Composites.


Other News